1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with dirt bike

Discussion in 'General' started by Eck, Sep 12, 2020.

1. Eck

Eck Older, wiser, but still addicted to roadracing

2021 Honda CRF250RX (bone stock except for Pro Taper clutch & brake levers)

I'm new to dirt bikes but hoping the collective can help me out. This bike probably has 10-15 hours on it. I've checked the chain slack, lubed the hell out of it, but I've come to the conclusion it's not the chain. I'm wondering if I've already burned through/damaged the clutch somehow or something else. Before I tear into it, I'm hoping someone might be able to say, "oh, it's X or Y" which will help me not make things worse. "Take it to a shop" is also something I'm prepared to hear. Thank you in advance if anyone can diagnose!

Last edited: Sep 12, 2020
  2. Subaruzi

Subaruzi Total hack

Sprockets have all their teeth?

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

3. Eck

They do. Surprisingly, that's one of the things I've thought to check. Sprockets look good - no missing, broken, or damaged teeth.

4. Venom51

Venom51 John Deere Equipment Expert - Not really

What does the sprocket alignment look like? That looks like it's trying to jump off on occassion.

5. Eck

This video was taken before I touched anything. I measured the slack and it was at roughly 45mm. The acceptable range is 35-45mm so I tightened it up slightly and tried to make sure it was aligned. I don't have an aligner tool like the Motion Pro tool, but using the marks on the swingarm, it is as close as I could make it so I'm pretty sure alignment isn't the issue.

6. turner38

turner38 Well-Known Member

What does it do when actually riding it?

7. Dom17

Dom17 Well-Known Member

It might just be a bad chain with a really tight/loose spot. Does this happen while riding? It's probably just harmonics.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

8. ClemsonsR6

ClemsonsR6 Well-Known Member