1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa 2

Discussion in 'General' started by twistychaser, Sep 6, 2020.

1. twistychaser

twistychaser Well-Known Member

I'm just getting into track days and getting away from the streets. My question is about tire life. I know DOT requires a certain amount of tread depth. When running strictly on track though, how far can I take these tires on a novice pace? I'm looking more for a mm range on the tread and edge of the tire depth indicator holes. Can I run them safely to the point of almost slick as long as I'm riding a dry track? Surely they don't need to be changed for the track because the tread is to the wear markers, am I correct? Thanks in advance for your input.

2. gixxerboy55

gixxerboy55 Well-Known Member

What, so your saying you want to run your street tires till they look like a slick,and if this is the hot setup for the track.

3. michael_chicago

michael_chicago Well-Known Member

Change them at the wear markers. Hypersport tires are not that expensive and they’ll last forever at novice pace.

4. pickled egg

pickled egg Tell me more

Before everyone jumps your shit, tires don’t last as long on the track, and all those idiots you see with cords showing on the street would have crashed themselves to Timbuktu a week of trackdays earlier if they ran those things even at a medium pace.

If you’re smooth and consistent in your riding, the tires will tel you when they’re going off. They will go off well before the tire surface looks like the forehead of @Steeltoe.

5. twistychaser