1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How did you learn to wrench?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by rk97, Apr 22, 2020.

1. Motofun352

Motofun352 Well-Known Member

Learned on my own. As an engineer I always figured it was my duty to figure puzzles out. Always wondered about those "book" engineers who couldn't even change their own oil. I agree with having the right quality tools for the job, it makes things so much easier. I kinda decided that if I bought the tools and did it myself, having the tools at the end of the job was my pay.

2. tgold

tgold Well-Known Member

I've has a similar experience I came up as an engineer having first worked on motorcycles and aircraft. That experience has proven invaluable to me and I apply the hands-on things that I've learned every day on the job.
    However, looking down on "book" engineers doesn't mean that they can't be good engineers. I had a college buddy Dave who was in the Engineering Honors program at Michigan State and I was very surprised that I (Definitely NOT in the honors program!) had to explain to him how a four cycle engine worked. Dave was no dummy though. He wound up going into the Navy Nuke program.

3. ronin1052

ronin1052 Well-Known Member

Ditto...

Aw geez, now I got this stuff dripping all over my keyboard. Must be the humidity...

4. rk97

rk97 Well-Known Member

Not often, but i might for that. Not sure i want to deal with the title hassle, but free is free.

5. mattology

mattology Well-Known Member

At age 7 i had a bachelors in illumination technology, my master's at age 8 in illumination and wrench management , and had a full blown ph.d upon completing my research in optimizing angles of photon incidence on a target with fresnel equations within the confines of minimizing reflectance. :lol:

6. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member