1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hey tile guys

Discussion in 'General' started by Tristan, Jan 20, 2017.

1. Dave_SV

Dave_SV Well-Known Member

Bathroom has a 48 sq ft footprint, there is more than 48 square feet of marble used in the bathroom (walls are slab up to ceiling).

As far as pricing goes, yup it's crazy expensive in the NYC high end world. I work as a gc and our average square footage build price starts at $1500/sq ft and has reached $5k/sq ft for real crazy builds

2. Rdrace42

Rdrace42 Almost Cheddar

$$ doesn't equal taste, that's for sure. Used to do high end custom cabinetry (sure, I'll build you a potato shaped TV cabinet), which was basically particle board, painted with automotive finishes.

Phl218 likes this.
  3. BigBird

BigBird blah

Session 3 - hey Foo the hammer worked, but it was some effort. But thanks, it got 'er done[​IMG]

Sent from my smatrfone

eggfooyoung likes this.
  4. speedluvn

speedluvn Man card Issuer

How much effort? Like, were you sweating profusely afterwards? I need to know. That might be my next project.

5. BigBird

BigBird blah

It was a lot of swinging. Probably could have tried a heavier hammer, but yeah I feel like I lifted at the gym, or whatever I imagine lifting at the gym feels like since I do the gym.

Depending on how you want to dispose of it, you can do large or small pieces

Sent from my smatrfone

6. speedluvn

What size hammer did you use for demolition?

7. Razr

Razr Well-Known Member

BFH...

BigBird likes this.
  8. BigBird

BigBird blah

And, how many project you got going on, you need a GC for all this.

as eggfooyoung said, a 2lb worked and I had one in the garage. Otherwise I would probably have gotten a Hart 4lb sledge if I didn't have the 2lb sledge from Harbor Frieght already.

Also, we used an angle grinder and made small notches as we went along and that also helped making breaking apart the tub easier.

9. rd49