1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kayaking, what to consider and look for???

Discussion in 'General' started by XFBO, Jun 19, 2019.

1. G 97

G 97 Garth

I’m no expert but get one that floats.

XFBO and Phl218 like this.
  2. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

My ex-GF and I became interested in kayaking. In researching them, I realized the seriousness of knowing what one is doing on the water, so insisted on taking a basic course. We learned so much about how to maneuver, recover one’s self, and recover another. It’s well worth taking a course, at least for safety and survival. I can’t stress that enough.

The shop we took our course through brought out a number of kayaks, from 8’-19’ to demonstrate different characteristics. Longer are faster and less stable (narrower) whereas shorter are slower and more stable (wider).

If you’re looking at general use, a skeg is essential, especially for amateurs. Adjustable seat backs and bottoms are, as well. You don’t want a simple plastic boat with zero comfort accommodations.

We ended up buying used units, paddles, and preservers out of the shop’s rental fleet. The kayaks are Venture Flex 11’s, paddles are a Werner middle of the road model, and the preservers are nothing fancy but are specific to paddling. We got into two complete setups for ~$1500. We’ve paddled all types of water from feeder creeks and lakes in IL to me paddling in the Gulf, up and down the FL coast, including in and around The Keys.

Do your research. Buying cheap, box store stuff can result in a negative experience and will have zero resell.

My profile pic is off the coast of Cape Coral, FL.

XFBO likes this.
  3. Pants Romano

Pants Romano Well-Known Member

I've been kayaking for over twenty years. The "right" kayak depends on the intended application just the same as the "right" motorcycle.