1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toy hauler towing experience with a 1500

Discussion in 'General' started by MVA25, Jun 15, 2019.

1. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

It’s my understanding, the lack of lubrication in the fuel is the sole issue of the CP4 and the FASS-type systems don’t help, because lifting the fuel and filtration aren’t the issues. Also, without filtration after the CP4, there’s no chance at catching the shavings which supposedly start at mile #1.

Again, I’m no expert on all this stuff.

2. DWhyte91

DWhyte91 Well-Known Member

Hence the additive ;)

The lift pump won’t save anything if the CP4 goes. If it goes it goes. If you want to delete the truck you can convert it to the old style pump that doesn’t have these possible issues.

ducnut likes this.
  3. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

Thanks, man! That makes sense.

I periodically used Howe’s in my semi-truck. With a see-through filter housing, the element would be black in a thousand miles. The shop would comment they couldn’t understand how I go through so many filters. :D

4. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

blasphemy!!!1!! :) Gas has no ass!!!

Phl218 and ducnut like this.
  5. DWhyte91

There’s a test of the popular additives on the inter webs and how much lubricity the add, many of them actually remove it so choose wisely.

I agree though, we shouldn’t have to do this.

ducnut likes this.
  6. shakazulu12

shakazulu12 Well-Known Member

Was chatting with a cousin who works at a diesel shop. Here in Oregon, they mandate bio in diesel. I believe its up to b5 now and some stations are as high as B20. He said that B2 restores all the same lubricity that old diesel fuel has and since that went into affect, they have had few problems with CP4's.

For Fords in particular there is a cheap "Disaster Prevention Kit" you can install. Won't save the pump from going, but if it does, it saves everything else.