1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bell Race Star minor pressure points

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by GmH, Jun 11, 2019.

1. GmH

GmH Member

Hey there,

I'm just getting into track days and decided to pick up a better helmet. Previously I've rocked an HJC CL-17 and a Scorpion EXO-T1200 Freeway on the streets. Both have been pretty comfortable, although the Scorpion definitely had a better fit.

I found the Bell Race Star on closeout for $375 and decided to give it a try. I tried the XS first as that's what I've used for HJC and Scorpion, but I could not even pull it over my head. I tried the Medium in a store and it was loose, so I ordered a Small.

The Small fits, but I feel some minor pressure points at about 3 and 6 o' clock, and some slight pressure on the temples. Should I expect this to ease up as the helmet breaks in, or should I look at another brand?

Additionally, even with the chin strap completely tightened, if I really push from the back or the front of the helmet, it move around my head longitudinally. I can move it so that the chin curtain is above my chin, and I can move it so that my nose is above the nose guard.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  2. Newyork

Newyork Dip Mode

You may not have the right head shape for the Bell range...I know I don't. My head is Shoei/Arai perfect so far and although the Bell RS-1 I still use for track duty fits it's less than ideal. I made the decision to keep it before I realized that not all helmets are made for the same head shapes.

ducnut and GmH like this.
  3. GmH

GmH Member

Thanks... I ended up wearing it around the house enough last night that it started to feel comfortable -- put it on in the morning and immediately felt sore spots that had developed from wearing it yesterday.