1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any WERA linemen?

Discussion in 'General' started by Dits, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member

I'm with ya. I've got a couple buddies that work in for power co (various jobs from linesman, to transformers). I probably could have tried to get in years ago too, but it's not for me. Electricity will kill you, and hurt the whole time. I'm a machinist, I make things, and I know everyday I'm going to go home. Unless I have a heart attack or aneurysm from dealing with the stupidities of the automotive industry....

I've got major respect for those who pursue it as a career. Those guys work hard (the linesman anyway....) and get reward as such. Good luck to your boy, sounds like he's got his head screwed on straight.

2. GRH

GRH Well-Known Member

This looks safe

3. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member

^ No thanks. I'd rather get my excitement when I hit the #'s on a tight bore first try lol.

Shenanigans likes this.
  4. R1M370

R1M370 Dr. P Ness

Fun career field to be in but don't be a dare devil. This is much like racing, safety preparation goes a long way and might save your life.

5. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

[​IMG]

ChemGuy likes this.
  6. ts199

ts199 Well-Known Member

And most people think what we do for fun is crazy dangerous also. The guys that do that job respect and know the risks and take it very seriously. That said, when a guy got killed working storm damage and went to put up a line he thought was dead, it makes you realize just how one persons mistake can wreck an entire family. My brother tells me they sometimes wait hours for a line to be cleared before they will get anywhere near it working storm damage while the locals bitch at them thinking they are lazy for just sitting around in the truck.

swetngblts and CRA_Fizzer like this.
  7. rd49

rd49 Well-Known Member

Are any of you a lineman for the county? :D