1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kid joining Air Force/Army

Discussion in 'General' started by casjoker, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Jon Wilkens

Jon Wilkens Well-Known Member

Being a former bomb loader....I'd have to disagree. We are by trade, very versatile, jack of all trades type of folks that can do just about any job out of the AF. We have to have electronics abilities, mechanical abilities, able to work as a team, be responsible to and for others, adhere to strict safety standards, etc....the list goes on and on. Heck, just to get qualified is tough...almost squeaky clean physically and have good ASVAB scores...not many qualify for this career field.

As with any job in the AF...it isn't always about the career field that will make you a successful civilian...it's what you learn WHILE you in the military that will make you successful. I always said...the best job in the AF is the one you have. Make the best of what it affords you...

ofcounsel likes this.
  2. StaccatoFan

StaccatoFan My 13 year old is faster than your President

Ahhhhh the dreaded desk....I love how many people think some jobs are just "desk jobs", and cops just sit in their cars and drive around wasting gas eating donuts.
    Plumbers, electricians and carpenters are just guys that weren't smart enough for college, too. Such painful oversimplifications. Everyone's a part of something in their careers, cogs in a machine.

I was in your son's place once a long time ago...1990 to be exact. College wasn't exciting me in my home town. I needed to get out. I was a computer science major, but college just seemed like more of high school, but less structure. The military seemed like a good option at that time, too.

(It's never a bad option, as far as I'm concerned).