1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's going on with Grattan's pavement?

Discussion in 'General' started by ineedanap, Apr 23, 2019.

1. ineedanap

ineedanap Well-Known Member

Saw some pics on the facebooks and it looks pretty sketchy this year. Is the track condition going to affect the WERA races?

Joe Lopez likes this.
  2. Mattinrsm

Mattinrsm Well-Known Member

The inside of turn one is a little chewed up, about 6 to 8 feet out from the apex. I avoided it most of the day on Sunday until the last couple of sessions, when I started riding over it. It didn't cause me any problems but I made sure to use a late apex and most of the sealer was slippery all day so the track was slow (and green). The chewed up part didn't feel as bad as it looked, but I'd want to walk it and have a good look before dive bombing somebody there.

3. svracer22

svracer22 Well-Known Member

That track surface gets worse every year at an exponential rate. Their solution, more sealer.

4. Pneumatico Delle Vittorie

Pneumatico Delle Vittorie Retired "Tire" Guy

FYI that place has been repaved many many times over the last 30 years so the mgt. knows it's important. And you sure can't say the same for many other tracks. So yes it's due and they are probably trying to figure out the when to do it.

sheepofblue likes this.
  5. grasshopper

grasshopper Well-Known Member

Yea but that special concoction of sealer is stickier than glue

6. JBall

JBall REALLY senior member

Unless it's wet...

2Big4Bike likes this.
  7. grasshopper

grasshopper Well-Known Member

Only give it gas when you're on top of the tire. :)

8. ChemGuy

ChemGuy Harden The F%@# Up!

Or cold....

_indy and JBall like this.
  9. ton

ton Arf!

or laid fresh the day before

JBall and t11ravis like this.
  10. pickled egg

pickled egg Tell me more

Just stay off the pavement and you'll be fine ;)

_indy, t11ravis and Wheel Bearing like this.