1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home stereo

Discussion in 'General' started by Pittenger5, Apr 11, 2019.

1. Pittenger5

Pittenger5 Well-Known Member

Time to start planning a home stereo, and I know literally nothing about them.

I need 4 "zones" that can play separately (ie, so if Im working in the garage, only play music in the garage), I'm not sure if its possible, but would ideally love to listen to my spotify in the garage, and the wife to listen to something else on the patio.

Bluetooth is necessary, wifi is highly desirable. All the cables are run already (stereo wire, and I'm pretty sure power as well) to a central closet in the house. Also would like alexa compatibility.

I was seeing the sonos, and it seems the easiest, but pricey (I assume). Not sure how much Id have to spend but I want at least better than average sound quality, I'm not an audio engineer, dont need absolute top quality.

2. zamboiv

zamboiv Well-Known Member

I have 6 zones. All on sonos with in ceiling wires sonnance speakers and a 5 one sonnance system in family room. I use the in wall base for that system. It’s totally worth the coin! My kitchen has a 4/1 system with a big base in the kitchen ceiling. I ran and installed all wiring and speakers myself. For the actual controls I use the sonos app through our iPhones and have a few iPads on the wall in other places. Those also control the Lutron shades, etc

Also, I ran it all to a professional rack in a spare closet. There is not one box that can be seen in my house, not even in the garage. I use URC to control all the tvs, etc as well.

3. zamboiv

Also, dead drop wires to every room even if you don’t do it now. It’s wsy easier to pull wires and write down where they are when it’s all opened up.

Another hint, if you’re puttin speakers in bedrooms. Figure out where the bed will be so they’re over you when watching tv.

4. cha0s#242