1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another Boeing 737 Max-8 crash

Discussion in 'General' started by SPL170db, Mar 10, 2019.

1. dieterly

dieterly Well-Known Member

With over 25 years of experience as an airline pilot I have never heard of takeoff/landing checklist having to be memorized, those are checklists that actually are read each time, or checked complete if the items are sensed, like on a 747-8 landing checklist.

speedluvn, Gino230 and Steak Travis like this.
  2. jksoft

jksoft Well-Known Member

You would know better than I. I am just referring to my private pilot training, not professional or a jet. My instructor required them to be memorized.
    So on takeoff and landing, would the FO be reading off the steps while you perform the actions and flying the plane?

3. baconologist

baconologist Well-Known Member

As the a/c get more complex and faster, the lists get much longer and start earlier. I wouldnt want to rely on memory for some thing much larger than a 172/Warrior

4. Trunxgp1224

Trunxgp1224 Well-Known Member

As both a pilot and maintainer in the past, you memorize checklists out of habit and certainly work to review the emergency check lists as often as possible. But regardless of the situation you always pull out the checklist and read it.

5. BigBird

BigBird blah

Seems like they were trying to read the manual on how to fly the thing, think they were past checklist since they didn't even know where to begin

Sent from my smatrfone

6. Trunxgp1224

Never flown jetliners but my first instinct if I'm nose down and need to gain altitude is to give it throttle, check air speed, and pull up; checklist be damned I'm flying the plane first. In this boeing situation, would the system kick off if the pilots pulled back on the yoke or would the MCAS override the pilot input regardless of what the pilot did?

7. HPPT

HPPT !!!