1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ballistic Battery questions?

Discussion in 'General' started by ToofPic, Jan 19, 2019.

1. ToofPic

ToofPic Well-Known Member

I just bought one,and was reading about the charging requirements.Can't undercharge, don't overcharge.
    Minimum 14v,max 14.4 volts.
    Do I have to buy the Ballistic charger,or can I buy one from a auto parts store and pre set the charge?
    The thing is stupid light,I just don't want to damage it.It comes 30% charged,and I have zero knowledge on how to maintain this thing.Thanks for any advice:)

2. DaveB

DaveB Just Riding Around

Only use a charger specifically made for Lithium batteries would be my suggestion. The charger they were selling appeared to be a rebranded Tecmate Optimate. Since Ballistic is out of business I just purchased an Alliant battery and they listed the Tecmate Optimate Lithium chargers as well on their site.

Any Parts Unlimited dealer can get you one or STG carries them as well: https://www.sportbiketrackgear.com/tecmate-tm471-optimate-lithium-0-8a-battery-charger/

There is also a 5 amp version but for me personally I didn't see the need for the extra amps.

ToofPic likes this.
  3. borislav

borislav Well-Known Member

Yup, have been using Optimate lithium for years on my lithium batteries.

4. gapman789

gapman789 Well-Known Member

Im using the optimate tecmate luthium charger on one ballistic battery....using a battery tender junior on another.

Research told me that the battery tender works perfectly fine with a lithium battery. Other brand of tenders may not be suitable for lithium batteries.

5. fastfreddie

fastfreddie Midnight Oil Garage

Your bike's voltage regulator doesn't know what battery is installed.
    Just sayin'.

mike-guy, K51000 and TurboBlew like this.
  6. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers