1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will you ever purchase an electric motorcycle?

Discussion in 'General' started by motion, Jan 18, 2019.

1. pfhenry

pfhenry Well-Known Member

mag? ti? al u mini ium ? looks 3d printed for sure... frame looks crude AF for a structural carbon layup

2. JBall

JBall REALLY senior member

stanley steamer small.jpg

I work in the steam industry and at a technical meeting they had a presentation about the Stanley Steamer, and a guy brought his car to our company and gave rides. Actually it had a lot of torque and was fast (for a 90 year old car). Note the steam whistle and the garden hose inside the spare tire. You need the hose because it has a range of about 25 miles and then he needed to stop and fill it up with water again. The guy said he would just take water out of a ditch or a pond. It used jet fuel (basically kerosene) to fire the boiler, and acetylene to vaporize the fuel on start up. It had all kinds of tubing and valves under the floor boards - a total hoot on the ride.

sheepofblue and pfhenry like this.
  3. JBall

By the way, this is my impression of electric bikes. When you can gas them up in 5 minutes so you can do a 500 mile day, I'll look at them.

OldSchlPunk likes this.
  4. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

When was the last time you did a 500 mile day not in an airplane or an 8+ hour endurance race?

5. JBall

Round trip to PittRace last summer for the MotoAmerica races. I guess my electric bike could have recharged during the day while we were there, but I doubt if it would have made it all the way home.

6. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

Woulda been under 500 if you knew where the fuck you were going :D

Monsterdood and JBall like this.
  7. bored&stroked

bored&stroked Disclaimer: Can't spell

You mean except for everyone in the world that operates subs besides the US and the brits?

8. Captain Morgan