1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ninja 250R guys: suggestion on tires/wheels

Discussion in 'Tech' started by JimboF, Jan 14, 2019.

1. JimboF

JimboF Member

Hi all,

I would like some suggestions from the 250R guys. I'm new to being on the track and I bought a '04 Ninja 250R w/ 6500mi for $500. I'm prepping it for track and racing. It needs new tires but it appears that 16" tires are all but gone. Are there any good track tires for the bike in 16"? If not, am I going to have to buy '08-'12 17" wheels? I am hoping to do it on the cheap until I really learn what I'm doing.

Thank you,

Jimmie

2. genosr1

genosr1 Well-Known Member

buy an 08 plus already set up, they are cheap and plentiful

3. pscook

pscook Well-Known Member

Bridgestone BT45 or Pirelli Demon are the 16" tires of choice, if memory serves. However, you can always upgrade the wheels to 17" by using 1995+ EX500 wheels or 2008+ Ninja 250 wheels. It require a simple bracket modification for the rear (I have a spare somewhere), but the front is a bit more complicated. It can be done by building a new caliper bracket and spacers up front, if you are willing to undertake that endeavor. Otherwise it's the BT45 or Demons. The nice part is that tires last forever on those bikes.

4. JimboF

JimboF Member

Gensor1....the bike is already purchased. I don't expect the set up to be difficult. Since I am just learning the track, I'm not too worried about speed as much as I am about safety and technique.

5. JimboF

JimboF Member

I don't have a problem with fabrication, I just didn't want to spend a bunch of money off the get-go.

6. jksoft

jksoft Well-Known Member