1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lap Timer Advice??

Discussion in 'Tech' started by africanjon, Jan 11, 2019.

1. africanjon

africanjon Active Member

I am in the market for a lap timer and was wondering if anyone has any recommendations? I am a newbie at the track so not sure what to get?
    Thanks
    Jon

2. Mechdziner714

Mechdziner714 More Gas Less Brakes

Get a transponder instead and grid up. Following faster guys will do more for you than any lap timer could.

2OLD2BFAST likes this.
  3. Dave Wolfe

Dave Wolfe I know nuttin!

For cheap thrills, velcro an old smartphone to your dash and run the Racechrono app. Its within .1 sec of the official transponder based lap times.

Ethan Wakefield likes this.
  4. africanjon

africanjon Active Member

Whats the difference between a lap timer and a transponder? Excuse my ignorance!

5. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

transponder is used by the race org. to score/time you, has no display. You must rent or buy one to race. A lap timer is for you to record your laps and has a display. Fancy ones also have data logging built in. The popular one nowdays is the AIM Solo2 at around $400

africanjon likes this.
  6. africanjon

africanjon Active Member

Thanks, makes sense.

pefrey likes this.
  7. javyday

javyday Well-Known Member

AIM Solo or Starlane Athon are nice laptimers.

8. TLR67

TLR67 Well-Known Member

Fixed.....

9. duc995

duc995 Yep…

I tried that with an old iPhone 4s and no worky without a cell connection...

10. Dave Wolfe

Dave Wolfe I know nuttin!

Theres a way to work around that. You just need to download the track in the app using wifi at home. I dont have a cell connection on the android im using racechrono with.

11. mdhokie

mdhokie Well-Known Member

I got the aim solo 2. Love it. I like using the data to see where I am faster and slower on different laps.

12. mpusch

mpusch Well-Known Member