1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steak Torch

Discussion in 'General' started by ryoung57, Dec 5, 2018.

1. Captain Morgan

Captain Morgan Well-Known Member

As a chef I don't use torches, to me it's just a gimmick, cast iron or what ever pan, seriously hot, sear quick

5axis, R1Racer99, tony 340 and 2 others like this.
  2. Steeltoe

Steeltoe What's my move?

:crackup:

3. Phl218

Phl218 .

:stupid:

4. Captain Morgan

sometimes I skip to the end with out reading things, sous vide has its purpose, you can do some really cool stuff with it for certain cuts of meat and lamb, venison. Especially the cheapest most tough cuts of meat. I was trained old school but a leg of lamb cooked 24 hours in a sous vide is hard to beat, or medium rare short ribs. There are certain cuts I won't do, rib eyes need fire and heat to melt fat, but something like a filet mignon with no fat can come out perfect every time with a quick sear, down to the exact degree you want it

galloway840 likes this.
  5. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

The goal here is to simplify the process as much as possible without compromising too much on flavor. The propane grill doesn’t get hot enough (and it’s winter). The charcoal chimney takes too long (and it’s winter). Broiler smokes up the house and makes a mess. Cast iron smokes up the house and makes an even bigger mess.

Based on the video I posted in the YouTube thread, I can literally pull the filet out of the water, open the pouch, pat it dry, torch it, and be done in a couple minutes with very little mess and no extra dirty dishes.

pscook and cha0s#242 like this.
  6. Captain Morgan

Just cook how you want, thats the beauty, there is no rules to cooking, there are recipes, but does not mean you have to follow them exactly, thats whats fun, you screw up a dinner, trial/error, there is always tomorrow and the next day

zrx12man and JBall like this.
  7. Captain Morgan