1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SImple trailer wiring questions

Discussion in 'General' started by dobr24, Apr 19, 2018.

1. RossK6

RossK6 Grid Filler

Stupid question - the green wire in the bottom right corner - this is the ground running from the box to the frame, right?

2. dobr24

dobr24 Well-Known Member

Correct.

3. RossK6

RossK6 Grid Filler

Excellent - this thread is going to come in handy in the future.

4. beac83

beac83 "My safeword is bananna"

Just curious, why did you connect it like that (under a mount screw) rather than to the ground bus at the top of the panel?

5. dobr24

dobr24 Well-Known Member

Because it was easy and someone recommended grounding the box to the frame. As I said in the original post I am no electrician.

6. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Not sure I'd want anything on the AC end of things tied to the trailer chassis.

7. beac83

You do want the electrical ground of the power drop tied to the trailer chassis. In fact, NEC requires it.
    Without that bond, GFIs may not protect you.

I was just wondering why he chose to ground it that way rather than to the bus bar designed for grounding. The connection method he used (under a mounting screw) may become loose over time, resulting in less/no protection. A connection to the ground bar doesn't require that the mounting screw remain tight, nor that the paint on the box be chipped to provide a good, low impedance connection to the electrical ground.

8. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

NEC requires it for cargo trailers? Not sure what that would have to do with the GFI's either since they wouldn't be tied to the vehicle chassis. You don't tie in the ground to metal studs in the house when you wire things up - why would you want/need to in a trailer?