1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Abnormal tire wear pattern?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Thistle, Jun 21, 2018.

1. Thistle

Thistle Well-Known Member

Seeking wisdom from the all-knowing beeb... I have a question regarding rear tire wear on my track/race bike. The attached images depict two different tires of the same brand (Dunlop KR451's). The first pic was taken following a track day, the second pic was taken following a race day - different tire. Pic number 3
    is a sketch showing the pattern - which you'll note is pretty localized.

Is this an abnormal wear pattern?

In both events the tire pressure was set to recommended values 22-25 psi. I monitored pressures throughout the day and adjusted according to ambient temperature.

I'm a novice rider and wholehearted acknowledge that my skillset in setting up a bike for optimum geometry and suspension settings is limited at best, so I'm looking for a place to start. Can this be attributed more to suspension set up? To hard? Too soft? Rebound? Compression? Where do I start?

Thanks in advance for your help.

IMG_2284.JPG IMG_2539.JPG IMG_2540.JPG

2. SPL170db

SPL170db Trackday winner

Cold tear? Pressure too high?

You said 22-25, what is that? Cold starting pressure or hot off the track. Generally I start at 20 cold for Dunlop DOT and slicks and work from there depending on conditions.

Thistle likes this.
  3. badmoon692008

badmoon692008 Well-Known Member

Without knowing the track, temps, pace, etc. anyone here is just going to be shooting in the dark. Suggest you talk to either the tire vendor or suspension guy at the track and ask their advice.

That being said, I get very similar wear often and was told it was because I was too hamfisted getting on the gas coming off a corner.

emry, HellrazoRR and Thistle like this.
  4. Thistle