1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engineering co-ops/internships?

Discussion in 'General' started by TheGrouchyCat, Feb 19, 2017.

1. TheGrouchyCat

TheGrouchyCat Don't let my friends know I'm slow

Hi everyone,

I'm on here looking for a 3-session co-op or an internship for this summer. As many of you know I'm a sophomore going to Purdue as an Industrial Engineering major. I have an immense passion for motorcycles and engineering and have a few friends on the beeb that can vouch for my character and work ethic. I worked for @27 last summer in his shop and we had a really fun time so he's given me permission to use him as a reference. I've been involved with Purdue's Formula SAE team and am now on the Purdue Electric Racing team as well as my own racing with WERA. My full resume has more; I can send it to anyone who knows of an available position. I really want to get in the industry and get experience with real-life engineering problems and interact with engineers so if you know of any positions available or just suggestions please let me know as I send out my resume to different companies these next few days.

Thanks,
    Ben :)

[​IMG]

2. RobOpel

RobOpel New Member

I did the co-op thing when I was in school, but now recommend a series of internships at different companies/different industries. You get a chance to figure out what career you actually want before you graduate, and not wasting the first couple of years post graduation bouncing from job to job trying to find something that fits is important too. When I'm looking at resumes for full time positions, I don't bother interviewing if a person has more than 3 jobs in the past 4 years. That being said, if you're only at a place for one semester, you have to push hard to learn as much as possible to make it worth your while.