1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie planning to take WERA school at Road Atlanta

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Joel F, May 21, 2016.

1. Joel F

Joel F Member

Hi I'm Joel and I live in Atlanta. I'm brand new to this and have a bunch of questions:

- Is there still going to be a new racer school at Road Atlanta? Mongo said they were probably going to have it on Friday, June 17. Is that definitely happening?

- I don't know anybody who races and this is all very new to me (signed up for my first trackdays June 4 and 5 at Barber). I'll be showing up to Road Atlanta solo. Is it possible for me to pit next to someone who knows their way around a bit and can help me out if necessary? Could someone mentor me through the first weekend? I'll bribe you with good beer afterwards!

- I lucked out and picked up a set of tire warmers from the guy who sold me my bike (2008 Yamaha R6S) but I don't have a generator yet. (I want to make sure I like racing first before buying even more stuff). Will I be able to plug into power from the track at Road Atlanta? Would anyone be willing to help out a newbie and let me plug into their generator for now? Or is it bad form to even ask? Do I even need to use warmers during my first weekend?

- Is the 08 R6S one of the models that requires some sort of tank protector? The rule book said the R6 does but I wasn't sure about my bike. It does have tank sliders on it. Do I need to add extra parts before the race school?

- According to the previous owner of my bike, my R6S has a front end from the regular 08+ R6 (usd forks). Does that mean I would have to run in the superbike class? I've read where Mongo says the difference between supersport and superbike isn't a big deal, but just wondered.

I'm unbelievably excited about doing the Wera school. This is something I've wanted to try for years! Thanks.

2. Metalhead

Metalhead Dong pilot