1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The official 'I just dropped my bike in the driveway' thread

Discussion in 'General' started by Metalhead, Nov 5, 2015.

1. Banditracer

Banditracer Dogs - because people suck

I did a little worse with a Telephonica 600. We were a Suzuki dealer at the time, sold one to my brother in law. He lives in Jersey so a few days before he was coming to pick it up I took it out for a test ride on a cool morning. Bike had been sitting in a unheated storage building. Pulled out of the yard, leaned left and wham I was on my side in the middle of the road. I hadn't got on the throttle at all, just cold enough on new cold tires I guess.

First I was worried they wouldn't have plastic for it since it was so new and limited but they did. I think it cost me around $800 to fix it buying parts at dealer cost. :mad:

2. TEAMLIKETYSPLIT

TEAMLIKETYSPLIT In Limbo

Mid 90's I was a sales manager at the local Kaw/Suz dealer. I used to take bikes to lunch sometimes. It was summer and like 3000 degrees so I wore shorts to work that day. The only bike available with gas already in it was a 600 katana so I grab the keys and ride it right off the showroom to go grab a burger. Come back and ride it right back to the tile floor showroom. Being a cocky smartass, I decide to roll up and do the ride up/throw sidestand down/stop/let bike fall on sidestand move. Sidestand does not go all the way down and the bike falls between my legs on its side. I started smelling something funny and realized the exhaust was "resting" on my right calf. 3rd degree burns. it was so freaking hot that I smelled it before I could feel it

3. surfingsk8r

surfingsk8r Well-Known Member