obtaining a private flight license ??

Discussion in 'General' started by samizx7, Nov 5, 2012.

1. HPPT

HPPT !!!

That's why I mentioned aerobatic gliders earlier. It's a hoot, and the hell of a lot cheaper than doing that kind of stuff with an engine.

2. 675AV8R

675AV8R Jetski Extraordinaire

Wow, I know a couple of guys that went through ENJJPT. What Academy class were you and what put you med down if you don't mind my asking?

3. MrOneNut

MrOneNut Well-Known Member

I graduated in 2006, RTB for life. Testicular cancer, which was compounded by the fun of a divorce and losing my dream job. Racing pulled me out of the gutter!

4. MrOneNut

And to echo Papa, glider flying is some of the most fun I have hours for in my logbook. I did the Soaring Instructor Pilot thing at the Academy and it was a blast. Got to see the sun hit the rockies most mornings and couldn't help but smile. Glider flying is one of the greatest secrets for economic fun flying. Cross country flying in a glider is a great challenge and most glider's can do mild aerobatics and spins. If there is a glider port near where you are at, definently give it a try.

5. XNachoX

XNachoX Well-Known Member

Powered Paragliding.

[​IMG]

$5-10k for the full setup

No license

Minimal regulation (FAR 103)(aka. don't fly over "congested areas" and don't be stupid)

I am 25 and a private pilot with ~250hrs. I've been flying PPG for 2 years (ran out of time and money for airplanes in college), and it is as wild or tame as you want it to be. It has not replaced motorcycles, but I now have a bad ass hobby that I can enjoy on the weekends. FO CHEAP! I usually take off from a farm an hour away from my house. We are limited to good, calm weather. You will never master it.

My first solo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtjGmUcibhg&feature=share&list=UUEBW8KbC4TlHuyKMWxjh97A

For more information see my photos I've taken from the air at www.sam-nash.com

And some videos...www.youtube.com/melvinsnash