1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Teach me about: Flat trackin'

Discussion in 'General' started by SGVRider, Jan 25, 2012.

1. SGVRider

SGVRider Well-Known Member

I've recently become interested in racing flat track. Well, honestly, it makes me really happy in my pants. I'm familiar with motocross and road racing, and the expenses, machinery, and equipment involved in both. I don't know much about flat track, though, other than that I want to do it. My attraction to it is that it's bad ass, and seemingly cheaper than road racing.

What does it take to start racing flat track, equipment and expenses wise? I would like to participate in the Southern California Flat Track Association series in Perris. Is anyone familiar with it? I have no prior experience in dirt, only road, what would be the best way to start out? How much would it cost to build or purchase a decent machine (my requirement is that it work well and be durable, I don't care about pretty or fancy)?

Are there other options for racing flat track in Southern California?

I'm going to go down there this weekend to the practice session they're running and check it out, but what does the wide world of WERA think?

Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  2. Quig

Quig Well-Known Member

Best way to start out would be to call up Rich Oliver and sign up for his Mystery School. :up: You'll learn A TON and have more fun than you ever though possible on a TTR 125;)

:beer:

3. stk0308

stk0308 Well-Known Member

Paging Tdub, paging Tdub to the white courti..; :)

More experienced people than me will surely chime in here soon but here goes what I can recall from similiar threads.

1. Just show up and try it! There will be plenty of help from other racers if you have questions on technique and tactics.