Anyone into AR15's?

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Oct 24, 2011.

1. Daekwan

Daekwan Ant Gobert's fav. rider..

Colt Rail Gun 100th anniversary in 2-tone before the year is out.

Thats my Xmas present to myself

2. Jedb

Jedb Professional Novice :-)

What suppressor do you have mounted?

3. SmokeSignalRT

SmokeSignalRT Fat Member

True

4. Scotty87

Scotty87 Lacks accountability

Can you guys give me a quick primer on some of the optic terms? Red-dot, co-witness, multi-retical, MOA? I've been all over the AR-15, 15-22, and rimfire sights, but a lot of this shit is just Greek to me.

I'm set on getting the M&P 15-22 (I'm a big believer in starting small and logical progression - It took me probably ten bikes to go from a KZ400 to a GSXR1000 when I started riding, and probably 5 bikes from a mini to an SV when I started racing). That's how I want to approach this.

I want to outfit it as a fun plinker/squirrel/crow/etc gun, with some sort of optic, but not necessarily try to make it a 'tack driver'. I think I would like some magnification though. It will see range time, but just as a matter of having fun shooting, not trying to make it the most accurate .22 on the planet. If I want that I will build a 10/22 later. The problem I imagine is that staring through a 4x32 scope (or something like that) while plinking and shooting varmints seems somewhat counter-productive. Am I wrong? Serious question, I really don't know if having your eye in a scope all the time takes some 'fun' away or causes you to miss what's going on around you, but that's what I imagine. Are the 1x red dot scopes worth a shit for what I'm intending to use it for? Is my field of vision going to be shit using it like that? I imagine this gun's most used range for me will be 50-75 yards and under.