1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

optimal Air/Fuel Ratio?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by QMXcycle, Apr 25, 2011.

1. QMXcycle

QMXcycle Well-Known Member

Hey all, just got my bike all re-assembled and getting it ready to hit the track. It's an 09 ZX6R. I had the head milled by just 18 thou and degreed the cams to 107.5 in and 110 ex. I've installed a Bazzaz ZFI-QS and I also have the AFM module and O2 sensor. This is my first time utilizing any of this equipment so I was curious as to what the optimal Air/Fuel ratio's might be through the RPM range. I plan to run 91 pump or U4.4. Any advise and the reasons for it would be greatly appreciated!!

2. Tdub

Tdub Say what???

IMO you would get the best results with a trip to the dyno first. Then you have your best performance baseline and go from there. JMO Tdub

3. QMXcycle

My plan was to take it to a trackday to get a baseline with the auto tune, then do a couple dyno runs and maybe smooth the map then. I'm new at this though.....

4. RM Racing

RM Racing Tool user

You should take it to a professional dyno tuner first. Get a custom map built, have the tuner find out which A/F ratio makes the best power for each fuel and have a map built for each. I can tell you that pump and U4 have different optimal A/F ratios, and the maps are significantly different - it's quite a bit of trim that each map would need to convert back and forth.

0.018" is a lot of material to remove. Are you using a thin head gasket as well? Do you have standard spark plugs in it? Can you adjust ignition timing?

5. QMXcycle