1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monticello Monday Sucked!!!

Discussion in 'Track Days' started by boccarp, Oct 11, 2010.

1. SV88

SV88 CCS 88

Interesting discussion but I think that I've seen something even more outrageous. I was practicing for an endurance race the next day with one of my partners ( I'm an expert and he's a prov nob) @ Texas World Speedway when I see 5 bikes in the weeds off to my right. The next thing I see is a red flag so I slow down. Then I see the president of the track day org running up the hill towards me and my partner counter direction. He almost collides with my partner who had not seen the red flag & forces him off the track. Back at the pit in/out, my partner and the president are having a screaming match which ends with the president tossing my partner for the day. Later on, he came by our pits, re-instated my partner and apologized. This guy clearly completely overeacted when he heard about the 5 riders off the track and didn't wait long enough for the red flag to be noticed. The 5 riders were uninjured but this guys actions could have easily caused a fatality.

This was the most agregious track day incident I've ever seen and this is why I generally avoid them in favor of all out racing.

2. ED_006

ED_006 Well-Known Member

I'm sorry to hear the guys that attended this event had a bad experience. To be honest, not one track day provider is perfect and from time to time you will get the shitty day. It's definitely shitty cause these track days aren't cheap.

The owners of these organizations need to meet and develop a plan to get the day back under control when these crash sessions start to happen. If they have to start kicking people out, or have no passing in any group the first two rotations? I don't know I'm not the expert but try something. Get things settled.