1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My first Track Bike

Discussion in 'General' started by hemiths, Jun 26, 2010.

1. hemiths

hemiths Well-Known Member

Finally finished my first track bike, a 2007 GSXR. I am unbelivebly happy with how easy the Hotbodies bodywork fit, and how well it went together. The crew over at Hotbodies pre-drilled the holes, and every single hole lined up where it was supposed to!

The bodywork itself came primed, I did zero prep work except for a wipe down. Shot it with two coats of lacquer (not sure the issue with people who say enamel is better, lacquer had phenomenal results for me). After the lacquer, I shot the second color and then put one coat of clear on.

It took me and my one of my best friends about 15 min to get a pre-fit, then removed - spent about 15 min running a screw through each air duct, then about 15 min to put back on (this is my first time ever with track bodywork and it was painless, I don't know where all the horror stories come from). The longest amount of time was spent drilling the holes for the mirrors (I want to be able to hit the canyons every so often).

In conclusion, the Hotbodies brand has a customer for life. Fitment 10/10, Customer Service 10+/10, Overall 10+/10. Thanks out to my boy Eric, Roger - Owner of Hotbodies, Matt - Racer Support.

Here is the process:

[​IMG]

Plenty of tire clearance, not even close to a bad fit:
    [​IMG]

I have the stock header, and there was no issue with the bodywork touching the header, or even coming close (another angle of the tire clearance):
    [​IMG]

Perfect fitment of the pre-drilled holes on the right side:
    [​IMG]

Perfect fitment of the pre-drilled holes on the left side:
    [​IMG]

And the final product:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  2. tophyr

tophyr Grid Filler

Glad it worked out for ya :up: