1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Is the Point of 2-Stokes?

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by blu_in_green, Apr 9, 2010.

1. blu_in_green

blu_in_green New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to motorcycles and am just getting into tracking my street bike this year.

As I've been doing my research about getting my 600 ready, I've seen a bit of 2-stroke information while scanning the various forums. Since seeing them here and there, they've caught my attention and I'm interested in understanding why these machines exist? Do they cost less to run? Do they behave differently than a modern sport bike? Is it for nostalgia reasons? I really don't know what to ask about them (2-strokes) or where to look for more information about 2-stroke bikes. Any direction you could give me would be great!

Thanks!

2. peterz84

peterz84 Well-Known Member

Beg, borrow, or steal a 2T machine, take it out for a ride and you will see why we still ride these dirty stink-bikes. Its just plain addicting.

Pete

3. vince69007

vince69007 CRASH277

yup. i miss my old YZ250 i had. i still have a 500 2Stroker street bike. i love the smell of burning oil LoL

4. Garrison

Garrison Well-Known Member

Rode a 125cc last christmas (a freaking dirtbike, no less). I completely 112% want a 2-stroke. The powerband and agility is, just as ^ said, absolutely addicting.

As for your other questions, a 2-stroke is roughly equivalent to twice it's capacity. For example, a 250gp bike is said to be similar to a 600. A 500cc motogp bike is roughly equivalent to a 1000cc 4-stroke. Obviously this isn't quite true, as witnessed from history; The 4-strokes can make more power and torque, but in exchange for more weight. This directly translates to higher top speeds, which is why you now see only 125 as the only true 2-stroke race series left.

Top speed on 2-stroke 500cc motoGP bike: 197-199mph