1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

racers and taped up hands?

Discussion in 'General' started by sickgixxer33, Mar 29, 2010.

1. sickgixxer33

sickgixxer33 Track Whore!!

I'm new to the whole racing world and been curious ever since seeing racers with their hands taped in between the fingers and knuckles. What exactly is the purpose?

2. Bandit730

Bandit730 Racing neophyte

I think I know what you're talking about. But maybe not. :D

Are you talking about the ring and pinkie fingers being taped together? On the gloves anyways. I've heard that it helps protect the pinkie finger by making it less prone to being broken or bent back in the event of a rider going down. I've seen some of the higher end race gloves with the pinkie and ring finger stitched together.

I repeat though...but maybe not. :D

3. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

He's more likely talking about the tape on the hand and between the fingers. I think it's mainly for protection, keeps you from blistering.

4. Spyderchick

Spyderchick Leather Goddess

Bingo. If the gloves aren't quite fitting properly, the tape protects the tender parts of the hand.

5. Dr. GoFast

Dr. GoFast Well-Known Member

^ interesting - i thought it was more for just general support/bracing.

6. sickgixxer33

sickgixxer33 Track Whore!!

Thanks for all the responses. I saw mladin last yr and it almost looked like he had padding under the tape just below his figers in the palm area.

7. SLLaffoon

SLLaffoon Well-Known Member

Is it a fitment issue or is it unavoidable? I always thought it was just a byproduct of the hand getting scrunched and pinched against the bars. I don't see how a glove could scrunch up to match the way the palm closes. I get calluses sometimes, but I've always just dealt with it. I also like to think my gloves fit pretty well, but you never know. If there is a way to prevent it (other than tape), that would be awesome.

8. DrA5