1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

difference between NSR250 and (honda) RS250..

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by funfetti, Jan 25, 2010.

1. funfetti

funfetti Banned

I take it one is the GP bike, and the other is a street bike? is that right? what exactly are the differences between the two?

google'd it already!

2. knedragon29

knedragon29 Well-Known Member

Completely different bikes.Maybe a few bolts and what not may interchange.Suspension is a big difference.Not sure about the exact chasis measurements.Brakes on RS actually make the bike stop.Powervalve set up on the RS is electric.NSR is mechanical.Theres an extra ring on the pistons of the NSR.The weight of the NSR is probably 60-70 lbs heavier.Horsepower is probaly 10-15 difference depending on state of tune.

3. nsr250man

nsr250man Well-Known Member

NSR RS differences

Neat subject. I am an NSR experienced builder and rider, and I can state some differences that may not have been mentioned in the previous replies. There are also a number of NSR websites to get the real info, but I will try to do a quick answer.

RS has powervalves with a servo motor and mechanical linkage, NSR uses a servo motor with cables and pulleys.

RS after '94 and prior to '02 had a single sided swingarm, but the wheel mounted from the left side vs. the NSR mounting from the right side. RS was a right side chain drive when it had the single sided swingarm.