Question on tires.

Discussion in 'Track Days' started by mattjmartin, May 13, 2009.

1. mattjmartin

mattjmartin Well-Known Member

Okay, I need some quick advice. I am going to be heading out to my third trackday on the 31st. I will be on an SV that will be a full time track bike by then (read: no street riding EVER) and will be needing to pick up some tires.

Being a broke college student, I have been scouring for deals.

So, with that in mind, help me choose between 2 different sets I have leads on...

Set 1 is a BRAND NEW set of Michelin Slicks, Medium front and Hard rear, for $200. Never mounted, not very old, stored inside.

Set 2 is a set of Pilot Races medium/soft compounds that have 1 track day on them without warmers for $220

I will have warmers as well. I plan on running many more trackdays this summer.

2. bEeR

bEeR Hookers & Blow

I'd go for the slicks.

3. madboosties

madboosties Well-Known Member

^+1, and that hard compound will last awhile which is good for someone on a budget.

4. pucksdown

pucksdown WERA #9

Slicks if that is all you know about the tires.

5. mattjmartin

What do you mean? I'm new to the sport so I am still learning.

6. seven158

seven158 Well-Known Member

i think he means that because the slicks are new, you know they don't have any wear on them. the PR's have been used, so you can never be too sure about their condition.

7. hank748

hank748 Well-Known Member

Just don't run the slicks if it's raining....:D

8. TLR67

TLR67 Well-Known Member

Slicks...get And sell the races for rains just in case...

9. Yard Sale

Yard Sale premix huffer

New Slicks!

However, Michelin hasn't imported an SV-sized rear slick in years. They have 180-sized slicks, "18/67," for 5.5" to 6.0" rear wheels. You'd better be sure exactly what you are getting.

10. mattjmartin