1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

US Auto Industry?

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by Chip, Nov 7, 2008.

1. healthhut

healthhut Expert #18

so what happens to Dick the worker that worked 20-30yrs and is retired. Does he get on wellfare, WTF are Pensions for, and how does the company not have the money set aside.

2. murf

murf Well-Known Member

3. In Your Corner

In Your Corner Dungeonesque Crab AI Version

That would be a problem for the the two sides who made the deals in the first place, the unions and management.
    Dick the worker can find a way to get the money he was promised in a private, in-house business arrangement (such as a lawsuit) or he can do what a lot of other retirees do these days, go back to work. The rest of us never volunteered to provide for him for life.
    I've been working for 45 years, put my own money into 401ks, and I don't expect to ever be able to retire.
    As long as Dick the worker gets his pension benefits, I doubt he'll lose a minute of sleep over my situation.

4. Mud Whistle

Mud Whistle Get my icebike ON!

Hmmm... free pie, I like the way you think :D

My poor attempt at a point was that the downstream affects of the auto companies going out of business will be much farther reaching than most think, not just the autoworkers and suppliers workers but way down the line. That said, I'm with you on this. I say no bailouts at all for anybody, let the market decide who survives and who dies, but people don't want to suffer a few (5?) years of poor economic conditions because they won't be able to buy their flatscreen/jacuzzi/snowmobile/whatever. We're going to have to take our medicine and I fear that putting it off will be far, far worse than just taking it now. But, I'm just a tax payer, I don't get a vote :beer:

5. Bones74

Bones74 Official Back Marker.