1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RS125 Questions

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by 748m0n0, Sep 19, 2002.

1. 748m0n0

748m0n0 bla bla bla

I am looking to purchase a Honda RS125. What kind of maintainance do these kinds of bikes need. I have heard that they need new rings every weekend. I have also heard that sometimes the rear just locks up due to the engine seazing. Is this true? How hard is it to find parts for a 1995 RS125? Thanks

2. GlennET

GlennET Active Member

I just made an offer on my first race bike today. A 95 RS125. I have been researching these bikes for the past 5 months and have learned quite a bit about them. I have yet to race or ride one (hope to be doing that in the next few weeks). 125's do require more maintenance. Particularly, they require a top-end replacement every 300 miles or so + other regular maintenance. They are not like a 600+ racer in most respects. They can seize (which scared the hell out me when I first got interested in them) but from what I understand with proper maintenance and jetting, seizing is rare. Lots of good new/used parts out there particularly if you stick to a 95+. Check out www.fatbaq.com, lots of great info. I'm certainly no expert on these bikes but I think I know enough to get me in trouble. Let me know if you have any more questions.

Later
    Glenn

3. 748m0n0

748m0n0 bla bla bla

When you say top end replacement. What exactly is that. Any help is apriciated. I am looking at a 95'.
    Thanks

4. GlennET

GlennET Active Member

5. d_alexand

d_alexand Well-Known Member

re:

Are the parts still available for the older '91-94 RS125's?

6. GlennET

GlennET Active Member