1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aprilia RSVR Gearing

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Ahab, May 30, 2007.

1. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

I'm new to this bike, 04 RSVR "factory", and any advice would be much appreciated, especially gearing suggestions from those with experience.

Roebling?
    Road A?

Jennings?
    Barber?

Many Thanks:beer:

2. derrickhackman

derrickhackman Well-Known Member

Stock gearing is 16/40 on a 525 chain. You can drop the front and add to the rear up to about 15/43 on the stock chain. Personally, I went with DID ERV3 520 conversion with AFAM sprockets to to a 16/44 and she runs great.

Most guys that run the Ape as a race bike will run a 520 conversion and do the 16/44 and then fine tune the rear with a 43/45/46 .. but the 16/44 seems to work well with the bike.

HTH

3. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

thanks derrick. i ran a 15/40 Road A practice this past weekend, which equals about 1 tooth less on the rear (16/43) than your gearing. it felt like i could use another tooth so that jibes with what you're saying. are there clearance issues between tire and swingarm when running 190 rears? michelin and b'stone 190 seems to have room with the 15/40 but it looks like it would be tight with 16/44? probably ok but looks tight.
    thanks again,
    chris slay

4. derrickhackman

derrickhackman Well-Known Member

i run the 16/44 with 190/55 pirelli super corse pros and have no clearance issues. The lower part of the chain is a little close to the header when the bike is unlaiden but no biggie once you get on the bike and ride it.

the 16/44 is pretty darn good. It will give plenty of top speed (for most tracks) and will spin right up if you ring her neck.

good luck.

5. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member