1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IT Peeps - Combined router and modem

Discussion in 'General' started by Hyperdyne, Nov 23, 2022.

1. Hyperdyne

Hyperdyne Indy United SBK

The household router is going bad and randomly loses signal and just overall has a mind of its own. Plus, it was installed in 2017 so it's due.

Q1: I see at Best Buy they have combined router and modems. Is that system better or worse than a individual piece setup?

Q2: My ex was a techy person and we have two networks in the house. One for all the devices and another for phones. I guess this is so the bandwidth doesn't get soaked up but there's only three of us here. Is this necessary?

Thanks.

2. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

q1- I'm no expert but have had both setups and there's no practical difernce.

q2- I do this for a living, and generally we prefer to have voice and data on separate networks (vlans) so that only the data goes thru the firewall (voice just has less issues that way).

boxcrash likes this.
  3. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

Beac should be along shortly to expound

4. Venom51

Venom51 John Deere Equipment Expert - Not really

Depends on how reliable you like things and what you feel you need in feature set. If you are a bog standard user that just wants to surf the internet and not know anything else beyond that then knock yourself out with anything off the shelf from a box store. If you have a desire to do clever things and like your technology to do its job without having to be rebooted every 15 minutes then the combo boxes will just frustrate you.

boxcrash, Once a Wanker.. and beac83 like this.
  5. Hyperdyne

Hyperdyne Indy United SBK

it’s been fairly reliable. I might have to reset every few months with the setup I had.

6. Venom51

Venom51 John Deere Equipment Expert - Not really