1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ninja 400 question

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Quick6RR, Aug 2, 2022.

1. Quick6RR

Quick6RR Well-Known Member

Hey, just looking for a bit of advice.

I've been doing track days for a few years and I've recently got the bug to go racing. I attended the Ed Bargy racing school in preparation, and other than that I've just been spinning laps at the track. I want to get more methodical in my training. I currently ride a Kawi 636 that was raced by the previous owner and has all the bells and whistles. I know that I need to start focusing on improving corner entry speed and trail braking as these are areas I suck.

My question is, should I stay on my 636 and just keep practicing, or transition to a smaller bike to develop these skills at slower speeds?

Or is there no benefit at all to downsizing at this point? I would likely downsize to a Ninja 400.

Thanks.

2. mpusch

mpusch Well-Known Member

You'll get people on both sides of this fence. Personally, I did a similar path as you, doing TDs on my 675 for a couple years then getting to racing. I'm sure there's something to learning some skills on a small bike, but I love riding what I have.

IMO, you have a race ready bike and years of experience on it. I'd ride what you have.

3. Quick6RR

Thanks,

also, when I said downsize I only mean temporarily. I'd keep both the 636 and the 400.

4. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers