1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Helmets

Discussion in 'General' started by Senna, Nov 22, 2021.

1. Senna

Senna Well-Known Member

It’s been a while since I’ve shopped for a race lid.

I’ve been riding in a Bell Race Star for the past five years. Overall, I’ve been happy with the helmet, but I have a few gripes:

1. The shell feels a little bulky
    2. I’ve had an issue where too much wind comes in at a weird angle and dries my eyes out badly. The helmet may be a size too big for me.

Overall, though, I’ve loved the fit of the helmet and I may just get a new Star. But I’m wondering if any of the below are also worth considering:

Scorpion Exo-R1 Air
    Suomy SR-GP
    HJC RPHA 1
    Shark Race-R Pro GP

The Corsair and the X-14 didn’t fit me great when I tried them five years ago.

2. lopitt85

lopitt85 Well-Known Member

What's your head shape?

I'm an intermediate oval to long oval and I tell anyone with a similar head shape to try LS2. It is the best fitting helmet that I've put on for my head shape, the peripheral vision and especially the vision while in the tuck is great, and they are seen as a great helmet at a great value in all reviews that I've seen.

I consider Brian Van to be a straight shooter in his reviews and his review of the LS2 Arrow is what convinced me to give them a try. That's the model I bought.

3. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

No way all those helmets fit the same. They are prob gonna be very hard to try on since they are high-end, but you definitely need to.

The RPHA 10 & 11 fit a lot like Arai. So you may be able to scratch the RPHA 1 off your list, maybe.

sheepofblue and Senna like this.
  4. Senna

Senna Well-Known Member

Always thought I was intermediate-to-long oval, but who the hell knows lol. I just try them all on to find out.

I'll have to look at the LS2. The price is definitely right on them.

5. Senna

Senna Well-Known Member