1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another Boeing 737 Max-8 crash

Discussion in 'General' started by SPL170db, Mar 10, 2019.

1. motion

motion Nihilistic Member

A modern day miracle: Sitting in a chair flying thru the air at 550 mph drinking a beer. That's crazy!

2. HPPT

HPPT !!!

3. beac83

beac83 "My safeword is bananna"

Very Cool!

Enjoy and both of you have a great time.

My first flight was in college, when as a radio engineer I flew with the team from Champaign, IL to Columbia, SC to cover a game. DC-3 and DC9 on the outbound, DC-8 and DC-3 on the return. I still remember being impressed by the wood paneling, nicely booked, in the DC8. I also remember dragging the 50+ pound broadcast equipment box (a wooden tool-box kind of contraption with a handle and no wheels) through the airports at both ends and for the plane change in Chicago.

I agree that its hard to relax when you have no control. Later in life, I was flying 70-100+ flights a year for about 20 years. I learned to let it go.
    Relax, realize that the pilots are pretty damned good at what they do, and are supported by a crack traffic control system and personnel. They are not amateurs.
    It'll be OK.

BigBird likes this.
  4. StaccatoFan

StaccatoFan My 13 year old is faster than your President

My first flight was 3 June 1990. Started in Fargo....landed at my destination in San Antonio, Texas.....Basic Training.

Except for takeoff and landing being a little more exciting...it's like riding in a bus.

Now the first flight across the Pacific in April 1996...that was a little more interesting for me. Again...riding in a bus....BUT, after 8 hours
    I got a little stir crazy...."How much fuel is in this fucking thing?" That and the poor military brats headed over there with their parents were