1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TZ350 for sale!!

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by dave3593, May 20, 2020.

1. dave3593

dave3593 What I know about opera I learned from Bugs Bunny

There is a 1973 TZ350 on eBay for sale!! Appears to be the real thing. The auction ends tomorrow (5/21) evening. I have no knowledge of the bike.

Last edited: May 20, 2020
  2. racer_11

racer_11 moto nyne guy

man, that bike is cool!

tgold likes this.
  3. Robin172

Robin172 Well-Known Member

Is that the red one? Something about that ad. doesn't seem right to me. Says it's a TZ350 but describes it as a TD3, which was a 250 aircooled bike and from what I can find that is not a TZ frame number.

4. dave3593

dave3593 What I know about opera I learned from Bugs Bunny

Wow, your right. It seems like a 350 would at least say TR not TD. I thought I read once that the first water cooled TZs had frames marked TD or TR but not TZ. I could be wrong.

The motor shows R5 which could be right for a 350. Maybe it's a 250 with a 350 motor. Hopefully its not an air cooled bike converted to a TZ but that would take frame inspection wouldn't it.

5. pscook

pscook Well-Known Member

Discussion on the 2Stroke World forum

6. Robin172

There is some confusion over engine numbers for TZ Yamahas but it appears that a R5 prefix is more than likely from a TR3. I wouldn't touch that bike with a bargepole.

rd400racer likes this.
  7. joec

joec brace yourself

Mike Olmstead had a td1 and I thought I remembered him saying the clutches were on the crank which made them very fragile.

8. Robin172

My brother had a TD1-C and it had the clutch on the crank from what I recall.

9. Black46

Black46 Well-Known Member

10. Robin172

There wasn't really much difference between a TD3 and a very early TZ250 apart from the engine (even then I think the bottom end was the same) so it would look very much like that.

11. fossil