1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2015+ R1 engine blow ups...

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Will929, Mar 30, 2018.

1. Will929

Will929 Well-Known Member

I was picking up my CBR 1000rr from my mechanics shop and got to talking about the newer 1000s. He knows I am looking at getting a 2018 R1. He told me that the 2015 and up, R1 engines are blowing up. He hasn't heard anything about the 2018s, and said he believes that Yamaha is trying to fix the problem. I know they have had a transmission recall, but nothing other than that. Have any of you heard about the 2015+ R1's having this type of problem? Thanks.

2. TLR67

TLR67 Well-Known Member

No...

3. RonR

RonR Well-Known Member

Someone started a post like this at the beginning of February. Seems there’s not much out there to substantiate blow up claims. I worked as a auto/ motorcycle Machinest for ten years and have seen every type of engine blown up. Abuse was far more common than any particular brand.

4. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

yeah generally they dont just blow up.
    Seems the reputation always starts with negligence on an owners part... like not running enough oil for starters.

5. shakazulu12

shakazulu12 Well-Known Member

EDR has posted a ton on the issue. Particularly the 15's. 16 and up got some updates that supposedly fix the issue. That being said, they are the only shop I have seen that seems to constantly be talking about it on social media.

6. Will929

Will929 Well-Known Member

I was thinking it may be some type of neglect on the owner. Not properly breaking it in, oil, or whatever. Sucks for the two guys he was talking about. One was just out of warranty, and the other was considered a “race bike”.

7. buzz-06

buzz-06 Well-Known Member