1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Company Christmas party...open bar, or no?

Discussion in 'General' started by eggfooyoung, Oct 25, 2019.

1. eggfooyoung

eggfooyoung You no eat more!

Food and beer for sure, but what about booze? Gonna be about 35 of us? All over the age of 21.

Am I opening myself up to headaches, in the event of an accident on the way home?

2. Circacee

Circacee Well-Known Member

Offer to pay their ride share (Uber/Lyft) to cover your ass. Run it by your HR and have them send out a memo about enjoying the time responsibly.

As an employee, I watched lots of office drama and headaches unfold at open bar events.

Now as a small business owner, I give out Hams with a small dinner for my guys. A couple 12 packs and some good music.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. BrianC636

BrianC636 Well-Known Member

Cash bar...ok. Employee did it to themselves

Open bar....employer helped it along.

A friend of ours just had an event with beer and some booze but quantity was limited and once it was gone, it’s gone. Also had plenty of water and soda to offset some things.

Circacee likes this.
  4. brex

brex Well-Known Member

Last company I worked for did open bar for the Christmas party for 4 years. Three of those years saw an HR complaint filed after the party with one year including a police report. So they stopped.

sheepofblue and Circacee like this.
  5. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

5 ~ 10 years ago I'd say "Hell yeah." Now, no freakin' way. Cops, lawyers, stupid employees. . . no way.

6. GixxerJohn011

GixxerJohn011 Well-Known Member

No way I would do it as the business owner, even non drinkers go full retard when it’s free. I’ve been to a few golf tournaments where they offer the free Uber or Lyft code. It seems like a good idea but I’m not sure if it clears you of anything legally.

Circacee likes this.
  7. G 97

G 97 Garth