1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to feel more comfortable hard braking

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Schwiz, Jul 23, 2019.

1. Schwiz

Schwiz Well-Known Member

I feel a bit dumb even asking this. I've been racing 600's since 2011, but I still have a lot to learn. I'm not strong on the brakes and I never have been. I may take the "easy in, fast out" mentality a little too far. With that said, I'm still in the upper-mid pack of the experts. After this last weekend, it hit me that hard braking is a big weak point in my riding. For some reason or another, I just cant come to grips (haha) with it. I tend to ride the brakes longer and lighter, and I'm getting overtaken a lot in the hard braking zones. When I brake later and harder, comfort just gets completely thrown out the window and I fear either tucking the front or completely blowing the corner. I've been doing this long enough to know where the limit is, but mentally, I just go back to doing what's comfortable.

What tips, tricks, or magical juju do you have to get more comfortable under hard braking and get out of my habits? Now before you answer this question, I know that next weekend I need to pick a corner and work on braking harder into it. I know that. But is there anything outside of this that I could do to get better under hard(er) braking? Techniques outside the race track? Just taking a shot in the dark a bit here, but I need to learn.

2. FZ1guy

FZ1guy Hey...watch this

I got over the fear of hard braking on my street bike, FZ1. Practice lifting the back wheel on long empty straight country roads. Now I enjoy the hard braking.

fastfreddie likes this.
  3. emry

emry Can you count? 50 Fucking what?

Road Atlanta 10A riding an 03 R6 during track days. Out brake everyone but the guy on the Tz250. He will end you.

4. bored&stroked

bored&stroked Disclaimer: Can't spell