1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Michelin Front & Pirelli Rear Slick - thoughts?

Discussion in 'General' started by AC792, Mar 15, 2019.

1. AC792

AC792 Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

At the end of last season, I torched my front SC1 Pirelli slick and had to buy an Evo Power Slick track side to ride out the remainder of the weekend. Everything felt fine and I didn't notice much of a difference from the SC1 front.

Fast forward to now, I need a new rear for the upcoming season and rode SC1's all last season. Will there be any issues running the SC1 rear and the Evo slick in front? I know it felt fine to me, but are there other complications I am not thinking about?

I would prefer to use the Evo slick (only 1 weekend on it) if possible, but if it's not safe, then I will ditch it and get matching Pirelli front.

Thoughts?

I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question. I'm pretty new to the slick game. Thanks all.

2. drop

drop Well-Known Member

I know many people who love the Michelin front.

Also keep in mind that Michelin also has brand new tires this year. Meaning different compounds. They did a big test with the designer of the race tires at tally, and the guys who tested them loved them.

MELK-MAN likes this.
  3. BigBird

BigBird blah

Different brands.. Instant crash..maybe falls right off the stands

Sent from my smatrfone

MELK-MAN, SpeedyE and AC792 like this.
  4. britx303

britx303 Boomstick Butcher…..

Short answer.....use your head and you'll be just fine.

MELK-MAN and AC792 like this.
  5. AC792

AC792 Well-Known Member

[emoji23]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

6. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

can u go as fast as u could with a new set of matched tires? prob not.
    can u go some speed slower than that? ya probably.
    like always, its up to u to figure out how fast u can go.

AC792 likes this.
  7. roy826ex

roy826ex Been around here a while