1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Did my 2018 taxes last night...

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by wood600rr, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Phl218

Phl218 .

Made more in 18, got more back than for 17

Would have been less but got more for having a kid

2. Banditracer

Banditracer Dogs - because people suck

Taking all our stuff to the accountant Friday evening, should have the results in a week. We'll see if it's good news.

3. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

I used to work as a contractor for Pro Series and did mine quarterly, you can still do it and get close to a wash at the end of the year.

4. auminer

auminer Renaissance Redneck

Getting back more isn't a measurement of success, nor is it a measurement of the effects of the tax law changes.

5. Motofun352

Motofun352 Well-Known Member

But it is an indication of the terrible lack of financial knowledge on the part of the general population. Even the ones who say it's a way of forced savings...lord, just how stupid (or lazy) can you get. What's even worse is the government won't send out refunds until after 2/15...even if you submit early. That way they get to keep your money for a few weeks longer. May not seem like much when you're talking about a thousand bucks but when you multiply that out it could easily amount to many millions in interest.

TurboBlew likes this.
  6. kangasj

kangasj Banned

Ya, no shit. I take the interest-free loan every year and just give Sam $1200.ooish around April 15th...

TurboBlew, Jon Wilkens and Motofun352 like this.
  7. Kolbe

Kolbe Well-Known Member

8. BigBird

BigBird blah

owe about $5k this year :Puke:
    The property tax/state tax cap limits suck. swing of about $6k from last year.

Everything pretty much the same, except in 2017 tax year last year we moved from NY to NJ, so there was 1/2 residency in each state.

SuddenBraking and Motofun352 like this.
  9. Motofun352

Motofun352 Well-Known Member