1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building a Racing Motorcycle On a High School Budget

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Vincent Huang, Feb 21, 2019.

1. Vincent Huang

Vincent Huang New Member

Hello, all! My name is Vincent Huang, and I am a high school student on Long Island. I love dirt bike racing, and I've raced my KTM 450 EXC-F for years. Recently, the road racing bug has caught me, and I'd like to build a road racing bike. I'm in ninth grade, and I have a pretty low budget. I'd like to spend less than 1K on the donor bike, and I can slowly buy the rest of the parts to make it a proper racebike. Thanks everyone!

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Ninja 250.

SpeedyE likes this.
  3. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

if you goal is to go racing, don't build. just buy one already built. ull get A LOT more for your $$ that way.

aboogie973, emry, _indy and 2 others like this.
  4. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member

Yep, I'll bet you could find one for $1K already built. You might have to put a couple of bucks in it but the biggest pain in the ass thing should already be done...safety wiring!

Only problem is the best time to buy is end of season.

5. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

I keep making the same mistake of building from scratch over and over again despite knowing better.

Don't be like me, go find a built bike. :D

sbk1198, SpeedyE and badmoon692008 like this.
  6. JCW

JCW Well-Known Member

Unless the built bike is a polished turd.

SpeedyE and track wagon like this.
  7. Phl218

Phl218 .

build a racing business plan and don't build the bike.

8. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

I don't think my GS500E is still running around?

JCW likes this.
  9. jschuster2

jschuster2 Well-Known Member

8802.jpeg
    We rode this bike in a couple endurance races last year. Maybe a little over your budget, but its good to go.

10. YoshiHNS