1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Did my 2018 taxes last night...

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by wood600rr, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Jedb

Jedb Professional Novice :-)

Did my taxes yesterday.
    I work in tech, and claim zero for federal and state.
    No change to base salary

Federal
    Last year: $3,800 refund (yes, I know it's my own money)
    This year: I need to pay $400.
    Net swing, not in my favor: $4,200.

State:
    Last year: ~$300 refund
    This year: I need to pay $400
    Net swing, not in my favor: $700

Net tax swing for FY2018: $4,900 not in my favor.

Thanks, Trump.. :Puke:

2. In Your Corner

In Your Corner Dungeonesque Crab AI Version

Trump gets the blame for state taxes also?
    Did your take-home pay remain the same?

3. Jedb

Take home pay was static.
    Trump can take $4,200 of the $4,900 worth of :Puke:

4. kangasj

kangasj Banned

What state do you live in?

5. Jedb

Oregon

6. kangasj

kangasj Banned

Interesting. So what deductions did you lose that made your taxes go up?

7. Aberk

Aberk Well-Known Member

You also said base pay. Did you have any bonuses or commissions that may have been taxed differently?

8. Jedb

I'm salaried, no commissions, nor bonuses
    Federal: tax tables narrowed, change in the standard deduction vs. itemization.
    State: No significant changes that I was able to see in the tables, nor enacted laws.

Based on discussions with my accountant, the capital gains distributions which happened in November (near market peak) were ~2x last years, and that was the difference in the swing, when coupled with the tax table narrowing.

That seems to be the difference. Although he said my 2018 number, under the 2017 rules would have resulted in an @ $1800 refund.
    Which makes sense based on the capital gains part.

9. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

So it's not really Trump and it really is the amount you were actually paid....