1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help my body positioning

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by AC792, Aug 22, 2018.

1. AC792

AC792 Well-Known Member

Hi guys, this is my first year riding track on a sportbike. Grew up riding motocross and started riding track on a supermoto last year. Well I got hooked and bought myself a dedicated track bike.

Anyway, after looking through pictures I noticed my outside leg/knee is always sticking out and not tucked against the tank like I think it should be. What am I doing wrong? Am
    I not getting off the bike enough? I drag knee pretty consistently and don’t feel that I am forcing the knee to drag by any means but maybe I am. I feel very comfortable on the bike but look kind of awkward in pictures. Are my rearsets out of wack?

Here are a couple pics for reference. These were taken in Intermediate group and I have since been bumped to Advanced, but my body positioning is still the same and I want to fix it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Bike is a 2010 Aprilia RSV4.[​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited: Aug 22, 2018
  2. Hotfoot

Hotfoot Well-Known Member

How close are you sitting to the tank? It can be hard to get your knee locked into the tank if you are too close, and that can also make you counter-rotate your hips, which can cause you to straighten/ brace the inside arm instead of dropping your upper body down into the corner.

3. TX Joose

TX Joose Well-Known Member

Everybody's got their own style, but you should be using the outside leg for leverage and have the inside of your knee up against the tank.

4. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

I think 2 things will definitely help.
    1. scoot your butt back. if u are sliding around too much to stay there, get grippy tank pads or a grippy seat