1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This week's Pit Bull fatalities:

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by Repo Man 32, Dec 21, 2017.

1. lrrs517

lrrs517 Internet Investigative Officer

2. R Acree

R Acree Banned

Musta been domestic Chihuahuas. An American Pit Bull Terrier couldn't catch an undocumented one.

3. SuddenBraking

SuddenBraking The Iron Price

SGVRider, badmoon692008 and auminer like this.
  4. tech1234

tech1234 Well-Known Member

I am probably the most qualified person on here to comment. My current 3 pits in pic below. I have been doing dog rescue for 13 years and pit centeric for 6 of those. I've had in depth experience with prob 50 pits/mixes... here's my list:

Gameness is definitely in the breed but some dogs to a lesser degree (prob 80% of pits would rate high in gameness) In short this means small prey is on the dinner menu, as well as maybe the neighbors cat, and in a about 10% of pits maybe the neighbors dog. This should never extent to humans and almost never does. The same people back in the day who bred the gameness into them also bred in a deep respect for humans (biddability is the dog term). Actually vets usually love them because they will let you do whatever to them without a fight

Many of the human attacks you read about in the news are related to the high percentage of idiots who own them. Usually there is a circumstance that causes the attack that only an idiot would allow like... intact males and a female in heat... pregnant female... starvation... abuse... neglect... shitty "protection training" (pits make bad guard dogs)... injecting dogs with drugs/hormones/supplements ect. There is also a definite thing with a loose pack roaming the streets that turns things to a risky level (seen a few vids of that) (also it is definitely true that the media calls a lot of different dogs "pitbulls")